stoneagepaths

A New Path to the Stone Age

Grinding and Pounding Stones March 8, 2012

I took a break from flintknapping and finished up on some ground stone artifacts.  The flat stone with the three small depressions is called a nutting stone,  Native Americans used these for cracking acorns, hickories and other types of nuts.  There is also a sandstone mortar which is useful in grinding charcoal and stones for pigments.  It is still a little shallow,  I want to peck and grind it a little deeper I think.  The small grayish stone dish will be used  as a paint pallete.  I made the paint brush using a piece of cat-tail stalk with a little yucca fiber and pine pitch to glue the fibers in place.

 

2 Responses to “Grinding and Pounding Stones”

  1. How did you make the shallow depression? Rubbing/pounding a hammerstone on the base stone?

  2. Yes, I used a large sharp piece of flint as a hammerstone and just pecked away, then I used a piece of sandstone and water to grind. Then I just repeated the process several times. The hamerstones wear out pretty fast, but easy enough to resharpen.


Leave a comment